Oteh, Sanusi Co-chair Abia Economic Advisory Council

Abia State Governor, Dr. Alex Otti, has inaugurated the Abia Global Economic Advisory Council (AGEAC) as part of his administration’s strategic plan to ensure the expedited economic development of the state.

The council, co-chaired by former Vice President of the World Bank, Arunma Oteh, former Governor of the Central Bank, Muhammad Sanusi II, and renowned financial expert, Bolaji Balogun is made up of 19 distinguished Nigerians with global reputation is aimed at building Abia into a self-sustaining economic hub.

Speaking on the essence of AGEAC, which also has Director General of World Trade Centre, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala as Honourary adviser, the Abia State Governor said, “AGEAC is integral to our strategic initiative for the economic revitalization of Abia State.”

He said, after years of neglect, the goal is to rebuild and reposition Abia State into a leader in innovation and economic growth, both regionally and globally, adding that the plan is to capitalize on the state’s rich resources, entrepreneurial spirit, and strategic location.

“The AGEAC will offer insights and recommendations on fostering innovation, attracting investments, forming robust partnerships, and enhancing our state’s economic resilience amidst global economic shifts,” Otti said.

Members of AGEAC include:

– Ms. Arunma Oteh, OON – Co-Chair

– H.R.H Khalifa Muhammad Sanusi II, Co-Chair

– Mr. Bolaji Balogun – Co-Chair

– Mr. Victor Onyenkpa – Member

– Mrs Ifueko Omoigui Okauru, MFR – Member

– Mr. Chidi Ajaegbu  – Member

– Mr. Uche Orji – Member

– Mrs. Ndidi Nwuneli , MFR – Member

– Mr. Chika Nwobi – Member

– Dr. Olugbenga Adesida – Member

– Prof. Ndubuisi Ekekwe – Member

– Mazi Clement Owunna, MFR – Member

– Dr. Uzodinma Iweala – Member

– Mrs. Ezinwa Okoroafor – Member

– Mr. George Agu – Member

– Mazi Uzo Nwankwo – Member

– Mr Chinedu Azodoh – Member

– Prof Peter Tufano (Havard Business School) – Member

– Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, GCON – Honourary Advisor

– Dr. Benedict Oramah, CON – Honourary Advisor.

The AGEAC will also include five members from the State Executive Council, led by the governor, Attorney-General and Honourable Commissioner for Justice, Mr Ikechukwu Uwanna, Commissioner for Budget and Planning, Mr. Kingsley Anosike, Commissioner for Finance, Mr Michael Akpara and Commissioner for Trade, Commerce and Industry, Dr. Chimezie Isaac Ukaegbu.

The AGEAC Secretariat will be managed by Mr Chinenye Mba-Uzoukwu and Mr Charles Egonye, with support from Mrs Victoria Onwubiko and Ms Amaka Okonkwo.

Otti who thanked all members of the AGEAC for accepting the vital task, also gave special thanks to General Ike Nwachukwu and Dr. Kalu Idika Kalu for their invaluable contributions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *