Tinubu Nominates Cardoso as CBN Governor, Names Four Directors

President Bola Tinubu has nominated Dr Yemi Cardoso as Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).
The appointment is subject to confirmation of the Senate, as contained in a statement by the Presidential spokesman, Ajuri Ngelale on Friday in Abuja.
Cardoso is expected to serve as the new Governor of CBN for a term of five years at the first instance.
He stated that the directive is in conformity with Section 8 (1) of the Central Bank of Nigeria Act, 2007, which authorised the President to appoint the Governor and Four Deputy Governors for the bank.
The four deputy governors are expected to serve for a term of five years at the first instance, pending their confirmation by the Nigerian Senate. They are Mrs. Emem Nnana Usoro, Mr. Muhammad Sani Abdullahi Dattijo, Mr. Philip Ikeazor and Dr. Bala M. Bello.
In line with the Renewed Hope agenda, the President is optimistic that the nominees would successfully implement critical reforms at the CBN that would enhance the confidence of Nigerians and international partners toward restructuring the economy for sustainable growth and prosperity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *